RSS Feed

Strawberry Slice

Serves: 6

Ingredients:

400g Puff pastry, defrost if frozen

Flour for dusting

1 Egg yolk

4 Tablespoons Redcurrant jelly

1 Teaspoon Lemon juice

450g Strawberries

2 Tablespoons Icing sugar

Method:

Preheat oven to 220 Deg C

Roll out the pastry on a floured surface in a 30 x20cm rectangle.

Trim the edges to straighten the sides.

Sprinkle with a little flour and fold in half.

Cut out a rectangle from the folded edge and leave about a 25mm band and set aside.

Open the rectangle and roll out again to measure 30 x 20cm

Trim the edges, roll the pastry around a rolling pin and place on a dampened baking sheet.

Open the band of pastry and place over the rectangle to make a border.

Lift the base, section by section, and brush the base with a little water to stick the two pieces together.

Using a butter knife, tap the blunt edge against the edge of the pastry at a slight angle, working all around the rectangle.

Mix together the egg yolk and 1 teaspoon of water and brush the border with the mixture.

Using a fork, prick the base all over and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Place on a wire rack and allow cooling

Meanwhile make the glaze.

Put the redcurrant jelly, lemon juice and 2 tablespoons of water in a saucepan.

Heat until the jelly melts, stirring occasionally.

Allow to cool a little and then brush the base of the pastry case with about 2 tablespoons of glaze.

If the strawberries are large, half them and arrange them on the pastry base and brush with the glaze.

Pour any remaining glaze over the strawberries and dust with the icing sugar.

Let stand for about 30 minutes, before serving, for the glaze to set.

Serve as is or add a dollop of cream.

Photo by: Ray Duns

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

Leave a Reply

