RSS Feed

Baked Cheese Cake

This is a recipe that has won me so many compliments and by far the best one was from Leon, a friend of ours in Moscow, Russia. After he finished his third slice he sat back in his chair and said: ” I can die a happy man now”. That might give you a hint of just how good this is :). And what I love about it is that this cheesecake is just a base and can be used for fruits or chocolate or whatever you feel like to put on as topping for that day.

Makes: One 24cm Cake

Preheat oven: 150˚C

Ingredients:

1-1/4 cups digestive Biscuits (or whatever cookies you want to use)

1/4 cup granulated Sugar

1/3 cup Butter,  melted

455g Cream Cheese, softened

400g  sweetened Condensed Milk

3 large Eggs

1/4 cup Lemon Juice

230g Sour Cream, at room temperature

Fresh Blueberries and Raspberries (Or your choice of fruit)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 150˚C.
  2.  Combine crumbs, sugar and butter then press firmly on bottom of 9-inch springform pan.
  3. In large mixing bowl, beat cheese until fluffy.
  4. Gradually beat in sweetened condensed milk until smooth.
  5. Add eggs and lemon juice and mix well. Pour into prepared springform pan and bake for 55 minutes.
  6. Top with sour cream and bake 5 minutes longer.
  7. Cool and then chill in refrigerator.
  8. Just before serving remove side of pan and top with the fresh fruit.

Tip:

I always make a little more base for the bottom of the cake. Just like it a little thicker than normal.

Photo: Nel

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

8 responses »

  1. Gorgeous recipe I have one so similar. Picture looks delicious. Xoxo

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous photo and very delicious recipe I use one so similar xoxo

    Reply
    • Thanks Beverley….changed the photo today….had a “bad” old one on but this one looked much better :D. I use to make one that I got out of the Cosmopolitan Magazine and then last year I found this one in on of my Mom’s old recipe books. What a treasure…love it and yes…always receive positive compliments with this one 😉

      Reply
  3. I love cheesecake! Thanks for linking up at Foodie Friends Friday party! Don’t forget to come back Sunday to vote!

    Robyn from Robyn’s View

    Reply
  4. This cheesecake looks beautiful! And I’m sure it’s delicious too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday!

    Reply
  5. Love cheese cake. thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday, remember to come and vote for your favorite recipes today. ~ marlys

    Reply

Leave a Reply

