RSS Feed

Tiramisu Cupcakes with Mascarpone Frosting

 

Makes: 18

Ingredients:


1 1/4 cups Cake Flour, sifted
3/4 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/4 cup Milk
1 Vanilla Bean, halved lengthwise, seeds scraped out and reserved
125ml unsalted Butter, room temperature, cut into pieces
3 large whole Eggs plus 3 Egg Yolks, room temperature
1 cup Sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180˚C.
  2. Heat milk and vanilla-bean pod and seeds in a small saucepan over medium heat just until bubbles appear.
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Whisk in the butter until melted and let stand for about 15 minutes. P
  5. Place paper liners in standard size cupcake tins.
  6. Sift together cake flour, baking powder, and salt.
  7. Strain milk mixture through a sieve into a bowl, and discard vanilla-bean pod.
  8. Mix together whole eggs, yolks, and sugar with an electric mixer.
  9. Place mixing bowl over a pan of simmering water, whisk by hand until the sugar is completely dissolved and the mixture becomes warm. This will take about 6 minutes.
  10. Remove bowl from heat.
  11. Using an electric mixer on high speed, whisk until mixture is fluffy and pale yellow.
  12. Gently fold flour mixture into the egg mixture in three batches, until it is thoroughly mixed.
  13. Stir 1/2 cup batter into the strained milk mixture to thicken, and then fold milk mixture into the remaining batter until just combined. Fill the paper-lined tins evenly with the batter, (three-quarters full).
  14. Place in preheated oven and bake for about 15-18 minutes, until the cupcakes are lightly golden brown.
  15. Transfer the tin(s) to a wire racks, let cool for about 5 minutes, and remove from pan and let cool completely before decorating.

Flavoured Coffee Syrup

Ingredients:
1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon freshly brewed very strong Coffee
15ml of your choice Liqueur. I used Bailey’s Irish Cream

1/4 cup Sugar

Method:

  1. Mix above ingredients until combined and sugar dissolves.
  2. Brush the tops of the cupcakes with this syrup, or deeply poke the tops of the cupcakes several times with a wooden skewer, then drizzled the coffee-mixture over with a teaspoon.
  3. Allow it to soak in.
  4. Use all of the coffee syrup.
  5.  Allow cupcakes to absorb liquid 30 minutes.
  6. Dollop (or pipe) the frosting onto cupcakes. R
  7. Refrigerate up to 24-hours in airtight containers.
  8. Dust generously with cocoa powder just before serving. 

Mascarpone Frosting

Ingredients:

 
1 cup heavy Cream
125g Mascarpone cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup Confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Method:

  1. In a small bowl, beat 1/2 of the heavy cream until soft peaks barely form (don’t over beat).
  2. Gradually beat in 1/4 cup of the confectioner’s sugar until medium peaks form.
  3. In a separate medium-size bowl, blend 1/2 cup of the heavy cream and the remaining 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar into the mascarpone with an electric mixer until very creamy and smooth.
  4. Add the sweetened whipped cream to the mascarpone mixture and blend until creamy and smooth.
  5. Use immediately.

Photo: Nel

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

Leave a Reply

