RSS Feed

Lunch Ideas for Kiddies

 So here are just a few lunch ideas for the small people in our homes. We were very lucky these last two years, Nicholas was in a Kindergarten where they were served breakfast, lunch and snacks in between. But now with the summer holidays, little master wants Mommy to make lunch and I know, for most of us, the ideas dry up or we just get that lunch brain-block and the two-minute-noodles is all that is staring us in the faces. So all my fellow lunch idea seekers, if you have something yummy, fast and not too unhealthy, please share the idea 😉

 

Cheese and Bacon Muffins

 

Makes: 10

 

Ingredients:

100g Smoked Back Bacon Rashers

275g plain Flour

15ml Baking Powder

5ml Caster Sugar

5ml Salt

125g Edam Cheese, grated

75g Sun-dried Tomatoes, chopped

30ml freshly snipped Chives

2 Eggs

200ml semi- skimmed Milk

75g Butter, melted

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190ºC.
  2. Line a muffin tin with 10 paper muffin cases.
  3. Grill the bacon until crispy and chop into pieces.
  4. In a large bowl, sift flour and baking powder together.
  5. Stir the sugar, salt, bacon, sun-dried tomatoes, chives and three-quarters of the cheese into the flour mixture and mix well.
  6. In another bowl, beat together the eggs, milk and melted butter and pour over the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined – the batter should be lumpy, but with no dry pockets of flour.
  7. Fill the muffin cases with the mixture and sprinkle the tops with the reserved Edam.
  8. Bake for 20-25 minutes until risen and firm.
  9. This can be eaten warm or cold.

 

***

Picnic rolls:

 

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

4 large White or Brown Crusty Rolls

25g Butter, melted

75g Leicester Cheese, thinly sliced

100g Ham, slices

2 firm Tomatoes, sliced

100g Cucumber, thinly sliced

 

Method:

  1. With a bread knife, slice off the top of each roll to make a lid.
  2. Pull out most of the soft bread from the inside of each roll.
  3. Lightly brush melted butter inside each roll and across the cut edge of the lids.
  4. Layer the cheese, ham, tomatoes and cucumber into the rolls, pressing down gently as you go.
  5. Place the lids on top of the rolls, then wrap tightly in foil.
  6. Chill in the fridge for at least 20 minutes.
  7. Unwrap and half the rolls, then re-wrap, and eat within 4 hours of making.

 

***

Egg mayo rolls


Makes: 4

Ingredients:

4 Sandwich Rolls

3 hard-boiled Eggs

2 tablespoons low-fat Mayonnaise

A handful of fresh Lettuce leaves

4 large pinches of Cress

 

Method:

  1. Put a layer of lettuce on one side of the seeded rolls.
  2. Chop up the hard-boiled eggs and mix with the mayonnaise.
  3. Pile over the lettuce and garnish with cress.

 

***

 

Tuna Tacos

 

Serves: 12

Ingredients:

1 large can of Tuna
2 tablespoons Coleslaw dressing
1 package Coleslaw mix
12 flour Tortillas

1. In a medium bowl mix the tuna, coleslaw mix and coleslaw dressing.

2. Spoon into flour tortillas.

3. Serve with corn chips and salsa.

 

 ***

 Crispy Bacon Tortilla

 

 Serves: 1

Ingredients:

One tortilla
4 pieces of bacon
4 slices of American cheese

Method:

1. Cook 4 pieces of bacon in microwave.

2. Put the tortilla on a plate and add cheese.

3. Put in microwave for 20 seconds to melt. Then put bacon on the cheese and roll your tortilla up.

4. Add salsa, avocado, or sour cream.

 

 ***

Mini Shapes to Yum on:

Order low-fat deli meats and cheese sliced extra thick. Use cookie cutters to cut the slices into kid-friendly shapes. Pack with crackers or bread.

Remember: Less is more. Children like mini-sized waffles and donut holes, so use the same concept in packing lunches.

 

 

 

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

Leave a comment