RSS Feed

Thin Crust Pizza Dough

I was never a big Pizza lover. Or let me rather put it this way, I never liked the pizzas that we bought at take-away outlets. There has always been a bad consistency relationship between me and the pizza. Not the “consistency” that the pizza taste good the one day and bad the next day, but the consistency that my tongue and the texture of the pizza just did not see eye to eye and after the third bite I wanted to run to the bathroom. THEN my husband started making our own at home and I fell in love with pizza.

Not only is it quick to make and can get you out of a pickle with quests that drop in unexpectedly….but you have so many yummy things that you can put on a pizza, you do not have to eat the same one for months. If you have the right dough recipe, there is no recipe needed for what you top it with. Anything goes……well most things ;0).

So here is the recipe for the dough mix that we always use and for the rest you will have to use your imagination and creativity. Go mad….make  a PIZZA. And in the words of Jack Brooks, “When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that’s amore”, or Barney the dinosaur, “Pizza, pizza, nothing beats a pizza. It’s my tummy’s favorite” 😉

 

Ingredients:

5ml dry Yeast

⅟4 teaspoon Sugar

¾ cup lukewarm Water

1 ¾ cup all-purpose Flour

½ teaspoon Salt

Method:

  1. Stir the yeast and the sugar into the water.
  2. Set aside for about 8 minutes.
  3. In a bowl, mix the flour and salt and then add the yeast mix.
  4. Stir with a wooden spoon until it is ready to be knead.
  5. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead the dough for about 2 minutes.
  6. If the dough is a little sticky, just dust the surface and your hands with a little flour. Not too much tough.
  7. Roll out by hand to fit your lightly oiled pizza pan.
  8. Top with you favourite ingredients.
  9. Bake at 220˚C for 10-12 minutes.

 The first pizza here was for Nicholas and only topped with mozzarella cheese, tomato paste,peppers, olives and mushrooms. The second one was for me and Christopher: mozzarella cheese, tomato paste, peppers, olives, eggplant, asparagus and mushrooms.

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday

  2. Nel, I love this recipe, it sounds super easy!

    Reply
  3. Homemade Pizza is the best! Hands down. I will definitely try your dough recipe. I love thin crust pizza and still trying to perfect a dough recipe of my own. I use a pizza stone… to die for. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

