RSS Feed

Traditional South African Milk Tart

It was International Day at Nicholas’ Kindergarten yesterday. So we made a Milk Tart, for his South African side and some Cornish Pasties for his British side.

The smell of this tart baking in the oven instantly takes me back to Granny’s kitchen on the farm in South Africa. You can smell the hot milk and cinnamon creeping through the kitchen door….enviting you in from outside. And then the whole family will sit around the huge table, in the kitchen, and drink strong coffee with a slice of Milk Tart. Aaah, what wonderful memories food can evoke.

Makes: 1

Ingredients for the pastry:

2 tablespoons Butter

2 tablespoons Sugar

1 Egg

¾ cup Self Raising Flour

Pinch of salt

Ingredients for the filling:

2 cups Milk

2 Eggs, separated

½ cup Sugar

¼ cup Cake Flour

¼ cup Corn flour

Pinch of Salt

2 tablespoons Butter

1 tablespoon Vanilla Essence

Ground cinnamon for dusting

Method for the pastry crust:  

  1. Preheat oven to 180 ˚C.
  2. Blitz all the ingredients together in a food processor or with an electric beater until it all clumps together to form a dough.
  3. Press into a lightly greased 24 cm tart dish.
  4. Chill in the fridge while preparing the filling.

Method for the filling:

  1. Heat the milk in a medium pot (do not boil).
  2. Beat the yolks and sugar until creamy and light. A
  3. Add the flours and salt – the mixture will be quite thick.
  4. Add some warm milk to the egg mixture and then return all of it to the pot.
  5. Bring to the boil and whisk constantly until thickened.
  6. Remove from the heat and whisk in the butter and vanilla.
  7. Whisk the egg whites in a clean bowl until soft peaks form and fold into the custard.
  8. Pour into the chilled pastry case and sprinkle with cinnamon.
  9. Bake for about 30 minutes.
About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

Leave a Reply

