RSS Feed

The world food day blog: The PaperCup Kitchen Food Recycling Dream

Yesterday was our wedding anniversary and we went to one of the top 10 bars in the world for a drink and a bite to eat. The Sky Bar is on the 33rd floor of the Swiss Hotel in Moscow, Russia and has the most amazing view over this wonderful city of 14.5 million people.

The food was gorgeous and the champagne went down a treat and then while eating and drinking and looking down over the city I felt like I could not swallow. I just could not get the foie gras down and the bubbly did not help the cause. Strange, on our way there Chris all of a sudden said: “What will happen if all the food that was wasted by restaurants and households could be channelled to all the places and areas where people go hungry and are starving”? Well the answer is actually rather simple…….hunger and starvation would be something of the past.

Now I do know that there are a lot of restaurants that donate their leftover food to soup kitchen where it can be dispersed to the starving and the hungry and I am so grateful for them doing that. But maybe again, we should not be the ones to say….”All these businesses and all these people with money can really start doing something to help those people that are starving”, maybe we should say that I will start by doing something, I will try and make a difference, I will start by feeding one person and one animal per week and from there I will make sure that I improve the number of starving that I help. My piece of chicken and slice of bread that I would have thrown away will now go into a little container and that will stay next to my handbag and tomorrow when I go out to pick up the kids and do some shopping I will drop it off at the person sitting next to the road.

Why is it that we can recycle paper, plastic and glass but we cannot have a little container for all the “scraps” from our dinner table? Is this maybe the way to go, recycling food one house at a time? Why not, it makes perfect sense. That’s it…..this is what I will do.

Unfortunately I am currently living in a country where I cannot speak or understand the language. However I will start from tonight, to save all the leftover food and buy an extra loaf of bread whenever I go shopping and I will visit my neighbourhood park where I know there are a lot of homeless people. You do not need to know or understand the language to feed a hungry tummy, you just need a hand and a smile.

We are relocating to the UK very soon and there I will continue my promise of tonight and I will also ask my neighbour to do the same. I will ask them to place all there leftovers in a container, that I will supply, and I will collect it from them every day. (They can even leave it at the garden gate each morning and I will pick it up there). From there I will make sure that at least one hungry person and one hungry animal per day receive something to eat. First me and one neighbour and from there I will make sure that the Food Recycling circle grows wider each month.

I have, unfortunately not the power or the knowledge to stop hunger in countries like Ethiopia, but I do have the power and the knowledge to start in my own home and try to influence the people around me. Want to join The PaperCup Food Recycling Dream? Then do not just recycle plastic, paper and glass but make sure your little container is fed with all the lovely leftovers from your kitchen.

Come on people, it must be this easy to fight hunger in the world like this. We can make it this easy!!

Nel

 

Photos: Africa, nuttalat and thephotoholic.

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

4 responses »

  1. I think your idea is wonderful and it is something that we should all think about. We should all be able to do something in our own communities to help others have a meal.
    I think that your blog is terrific and I so I would like to pass this on to you.
    http://lisasdinnertimedish.blogspot.com/2011/10/versatile-blogger-award-im-lucky.html

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa ;). This is actually so easy and I feel really silly for not doing this earlier. But then lets face it, we are so busy everyday and it’s so easy to forget to just put the little bit of leftovers in a bag or container and so much “easier” to open the bin and throw it away. I have the container now next to the kettle and there is no excuse not the remember :D. Please pass this on, I really do not mind. xx

      Reply
  2. What a thoughtful post – you are so compassionate! I wish you the best of luck in this. I will be honest and say I probably won’t be doing this, but…. When we have large amounts of food to donate (after a party) we always donate it to our local womens shelter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

