RSS Feed

Pineapple and Coconut Upside Down Cake

All our belongings, my whole kitchen included, were packed last week for shipping to the UK, that will happen this week.

Now although that is really exciting news for us, meaning a new adventure awaits, it also means that I will be without

everything I need to bake yummy cakes and puddings and sweets and.. and.. and.. for a long time. I will not survive if I

can’t cook AND bake. The next best thing was to buy a “survival baking kit” from the One Price Store. I could bake this cake,

although I did forget to buy a really cheap sieve, so I did not even sift the dry ingredients, oooops. But the end result was

still really delicious and yes, you can bake a cake with the bare necessities and just the power of your elbows and hands…

although beating egg whites to stiff peaks left me with stiff arms for two days.

Serves: 6-8, makes one 23cm round cake

Ingredients for the Topping:

4 tablespoons/55 grams unsalted Butter

¾ cup/160 grams light Brown Sugar

2 tablespoons/30ml Desiccated Coconut

565g Tin of Pineapple slices

Ingredients for the Cake Batter:

1 ½ cups/195 grams All Purpose Flour

2 teaspoons/10 ml Baking Powder

¼ teaspoon Salt

2ml ground Ginger

2ml ground Cinnamon

4 tablespoons/60ml Desiccated Coconut

½ cup/113 grams unsalted Butter, room temperature

1 cup/200 grams granulated White Sugar

1 teaspoon/5ml pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs, separated

½ /120 ml Milk

Method for the Topping:

  1. Place the butter and brown sugar in a small saucepan.
  2. Stir over medium heat until the butter has melted and the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Continue cooking, but do not stir, just swirl the saucepan around, until bubbles start to appear around the outside edges of the mixture. This means the sugar starts to caramelize.
  4. Remove from heat, and pour into a well greased cake pan.
  5. Evenly arrange the pineapple slices on top of the sugar mixture and sprinkle the coconut evenly over the pineapple slices.

Method for the Cake Batter:

  1. In a bowl, sieve together the flour, baking powder, salt, ginger and cinnamon.
  2. Add the coconut to the flour mix.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the vanilla extract.
  5. Add the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  6. Scrape down the sides of the bowl again and add the flour mixture (in three additions),
  7. alternately with the milk (in two additions), ending with the dry ingredients.
  8. In a clean bowl, and with a clean and dry whisk, whisk the egg whites until the whites hold a firm peak.
  9. Using a large spatula gently fold the beaten egg whites into the cake batter in two additions.
  10. Pour the batter into the cake pan, smoothing the top.

11. Bake in preheated oven for 45 – 55 minutes, or until the top of the cake has browned and starts to pull away from the sides of the pan.

12. Let cool for about 10 minutes and then remove from the tin.

13. Using a sharp knife, run around the edge of the pan and then invert the cake onto your serving plate.

14. This is even better when served with a dollop of cream.

Just thought I would share my Emergency Baking Kit with you, hehehehe, have you ever seen kitchen equipment of this high standard 🙂

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

2 responses »

  1. This looks amazing. Pineapple upside down cake is a favorite in our house. The addition of coconut is pure genius.

    xo,
    ~Melissa Placzek
    http://www.ChinDeep.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

