RSS Feed

Moist One Layer Chocolate Cake with a drop or two of Brandy Essence

Just the mere sight of chocolate makes me feel better and seeing that I was a little under the weather for a week or two, what better medicine is there than a moist chocolate cake covered in more and more and more chocolate. I really enjoyed the cake and the brandy essence really gave it a lovely flavour. Chris on the other hand said that, although the cake was good and rates fine, he found it a little dense and heavy and think it must be because the recipe does not call for any eggs. I am posting the recipe in any case, leave out the chocolates and replace the butter with sunflower oil and you have the perfect Vegan Cake 🙂

Serves: 8-10

Ingredients:

1 ½  cups (195 grams) All-purpose Flour1 cup (200 grams) granulated white Sugar

¼  cup (25 grams) unsweetened Cocoa Powder, sifted

1 teaspoon (5ml) Baking Powder

1 teaspoon (5ml) Baking Soda

¼  (1ml) teaspoon Salt

1/3 cup (75 grams) unsalted Butter , melted

1 cup (240 ml) warm Water

1 tablespoon (15ml) Vinegar

1 teaspoon (5ml) Vanilla Essence

¼ (1ml) teaspoon Brandy Essence

 

Method for Cake:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C ( 350 degrees F).
  2. Stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add the melted butter, water, vinegar, vanilla essence and brandy essence.
  4. Mix all the ingredients together until well blended.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for about 35 minutes, or when a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool in wire rack for about 10 minutes before taking out of the cake tin and decorating.

Ingredients for the glaze:

300g Milk Chocolate, melted

200g White Chocolate, melted

Method:

1. Melt the white and milk chocolate separately over a low heat and stir constantly until smooth.

2. Let cool down slightly.

3. Cover the whole cake with the Milk chocolate .

4. Using a teaspoon, spoon the white chocolate onto the middle of the cake and using a toothpick, start decorating in your own design.

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

8 responses »

  1. mmmm….must try this.

    Reply
  2. Beautiful! What a lovely way to get my chocolate fix, can’t wait to try this!

    Reply
  3. This is a GREAT cake recipe! I have something similar to it, but it has eggs in it. The frosting you did on it is lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

