RSS Feed

Lamb Chop Stew

What an interesting time cooking I must say ;0). We have, in our temporary accommodation, one small pan and 2 small saucepans to cook out of. Oh and one oven pan. And what the groceries are concerned, we can basically just stock the bare essentials for we have NO cupboard space. So a few herbs and spices, breakfast cereals, box of tea and a packet of rice. Well that’s it, anything else will have to find a place on the floor if we want to get some more stock for the larder. Now I am normally not put off any “cooking tool” but it gets rather difficult to cook something delicious if the saucepan can only handle half a cup of rice and the other one is so stuffed with veggies and meat there is no room for gravy. And this all to make one stew AND then you realize that you have to put all this together in one food vessel for the table….and you do not have such a vessel. Bwhahahaha, what can I say … I will definitely enjoy the kitchen I move into next ;0)

Lamb Chop Stew

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

15g Butter

1 tablespoon Oil

900g Lamb Chops

1 large Onion

1 tablespoon All Purpose Flour

400ml Lamb Stock

2 tablespoon Tomato Puree

10ml/2 teaspoon Mixed Herbs

Salt and Pepper to taste

300g Carrots, sliced

150g Cauliflower, flowered

150g Broccoli, flowered

150g Mushrooms, sliced

150g green Beans, diced

1 cup/250ml long grain Rice

Method:

  1. Melt the butter with the oil.
  2. Add the lamb chops and brown them on all sides.
  3. Add the onions and fry for another 5 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle the flour over and stir for about 3minutes.
  5. Stir in the stock and tomato puree and the mixed herbs.
  6. Season with salt and pepper.
  7. Bring to the boil and simmer for 35 minutes.
  8. Add the carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms and beans and bring back to the boil.
  9. Simmer for 15 – 20 minutes.

10. Cook the rice according to packet instructions.

11. Spoon the stew and the rice into a serving bowl.

Tip: Obviously if you have more than one serving bowl you will keep the stew and the rice separate….but, like in my case you do not have two, mix it all in one ;0)

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

5 responses »

  1. Always good to do without! Now when you get that new kitchen, you’ll reeeeeally luv and appreciate it!! PS…the stew’s probably even better under the not so great cooking circumstances!! xoxo Ally 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Lamb With Rice « Recipe Vintage

  3. Wow you made this dish in temporary kitchen with only limited utensils and ingredients. I am jealous and inspired. I am going lamb hunting for lamb stew for dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

