RSS Feed

My Cake Decorating Adventure

Tomorrow is the start of a new adventure and one of my long term/short term goals I have made.

I will attend a few Cake Baking and Decorating Courses at a local Cake Shop. Why? Well, although I love cooking, baking is definitely my favourite thing to do in the kitchen and I would love to have my own little Tea Garden one day. I have always wanted to learn the ins and outs of baking and decorating and no better time than the present to start with this.

I am turning 36 this year and although Allegra is still not even a year old…I need to do something for me and not just be a Mommy. With this, I hope, that I can also earn a steady income some day and maybe leave this little dream, make it a reality and pass it on to the kids when Chris and I are grey and not that active anymore.

Further, and this will be the longer term goal if this adventure, I would like to open up my doors once or twice a week to give classes to the less fortunate and also to physically and mentally disabled people of all ages. I am extremely privileged….I have two gorgeous, healthy children…I have an awesome husband…and although I have been living with Multiple Sclerosis now for 12 years … I am healthy and happy and loved and this will be my way of giving something special to someone out there who might never have the opportunity. Food makes me happy….beautiful bakes makes me even more happy and what better way to make someone else less fortunate happy, by giving them a chance to make something not just gorgeous to eat, but gorgeous to look at and they might be able to use the skills they have learned, to better their own lives. So yes, this is the start of something small and something big. This is the start of making a dream happen and making dreams come true….This is something so small in the big world and something so big in my small world!

The PaperCup Kitchen was started in May 2011 with this in mind……and now my real journey starts and I hope you join me for the exciting ride. Hold on….it will definitely start off a little bumpy…poor teachers…BUT I can guarantee laughs and giggles and good recipes and a tear now and then for good measure 😀

Watch this space….the first feedback and photos will be posted on Wednesday and all that is left for me to say is..Yipeeeeeeee whooooo hoooooo!!!!!

(Note: The PaperCup Kitchen will not change that much. My daily posts stay the same now just with a little added sugar and spice and baking nice. My profile will change in the near future, I will not buy the image for my little business adventure, but the Lady on the new profile will look very similar to the one you see now….hehehehe, get what I am saying?)

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

8 responses »

  1. I love that you are doing this for yourself! Someday it will be just you and Chris someday in that beautiful tranquil little Tea Garden! I’ll be there sipping your tea and enjoying your lusciious desserts! Hugs and love, ally xoxox

    Reply
  2. Wow! What a great goal! I love this. So inspiring 🙂 I would love to come and do a book signing at your tea garden once my tea book is published.

    xoxo,

    ~Melissa

    Reply
  3. Hi Nel! Happy baking! Look forward to see all the photies and recipes. Mmmmm, love teagardens! Will certainly try yours out oneday!! xxxx

    Reply
  4. I took cake decorating classes two years ago and have loved every minute…..can’t wait to follow your progress!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

