RSS Feed

My Cake Decorating Adventure – 1

Last night was my first lesson in Cake Decorating 101. As Kim, our teacher, said: ” I am sorry, but tonight is going to be a little boring for all of you. Not much happening in the decorating side, but you will have to listen carefully and take everything in”.

So that is what we did, or tried to do. We are 12 ladies taking this course and I am very happy that the other 3 ladies on my table are really funny and so sweet and a little Mad Hatter style just like me. We are definitely the Noisy table and had lots of fun. And what’s nice is that we are already helping and giving advice to one another…as though we have been doing this for years :). And it was really funny to see that even at this age we are still biting on our tongues while concentrating. I did well in the piping test, seeing that I have never piped flowers…but was a little to strong for the piping bag and it exploded in my hand……icing was good though and I cleaned (licked) the mess up rather quickly.

The only Piping and decorating we did was to practise the Flower Tip piping on some Rich Tea Biscuits. We did however receive a lesson in the art of cake baking and then Kim showed us how to ice a cake properly. Gave us a few tips of the trade on how to hide the mistakes and to make sure the cake looks and tastes good.

On Sunday we will be baking and decorating a complete cake and that will be our first test. With that I will give you a little lesson and show  you how I baked, iced and decorated the first cake of the course. And if I can remember everything…a step-by-step how to do it at home guide 😀

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

5 responses »

  1. Oooh, can’t wait for you to post more about this! I have wanted to take a cake decorating class for years and never have. Your flowers look great!

    Reply
  2. I took those classes, and loved it, I don’t get to use what I learned very often but it was worth it. And I can, when I want to make something pretty 🙂

    Reply
  3. Nel ! How fun! I’ve taken one little community ed class on cake decorating and learned all the basics…I’m still not very good at roses though 🙂 You go girl!

    xoxo,
    ~Melissa

    Reply
    • I am having the time of my life Melissa..and I can see myself doing this!! What better why to spend your time by making something that tastes and looks good. Can’t wait to get into the new kitchen so that I can practise more 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

