RSS Feed

Mini Whoopie Hearts

Chris and I are not that big with the whole Valentine’s Day thing, but I decided to make him something chocolaty and yummy to nibble on a little later tonight ;). This is a recipe I have found whilst going through my thousands of cookbooks. Takes no time to make and tastes as good as it looks.

Legend has it that the Whoopie Pie originated from the Amish where the Ladies would make it for their husbands to take with in their lunch boxes. When the men sat down to have a break, they would shout “Whoopie” in delight at the sight of these sweet little cakes. Let’s see if Chris will go WHOOPIE about this 😀

Makes: 18 mini hearts

 

Ingredients: 

Vegetable oil or spray for greasing your moulds

100g unsalted Butter

100g Caster Sugar

2 small Eggs

125g Self-raising Flour

25g Cocoa Powder

1-2 tablespoons Milk

Icing sugar for dusting (optional)

 

Ingredients for the Marshmallow Cream:

125g white Marshmallows

50ml Milk

125g unsalted Butter

 

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C and oil the moulds.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  4. Sift the self-raising flour and cocoa powder.
  5. Add the flour to the wet mix.
  6. Add one or two tablespoons of milk to the mix to loosen the batter.
  7. Use two teaspoons and spoon a little batter into the moulds.
  8. Bake for 10-12 minutes until the buns are well risen and firm to the touch.
  9. If ready, take out of the oven and let cool on a wire rack.

Method for the Marshmallow Cream:

  1. Melt the marshmallows and milk together and et cool a little.
  2. Beat the butter until light and fluffy.
  3. Slowly add the butter into the marshmallow cream and beat until smooth.
  4. Allow to cool completely before you fill the hearts.
  5. Divide the hearts in half horizontally and spread some filling onto the one half and sandwich together.
  6. Dust the hearts with sifted icing sugar.

Tips: If you find that the eggs curdle as you add them to the sugar mix, just spoon in some of the measured flour to the mixture, that should rectify the problem. I also added some red food gel to make it more Valentine-ish 😀

 

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

2 responses »

  1. They look so pretty, perfect for the day. I particularly like the red centres!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

