RSS Feed

Crunchy Fan Potatoes

Now this is a fancy way to do roast potatoes. They are gorgeous to look at and to eat and some how they taste completely different from a normal roast potato…must be all the love that you put in the cutting of the spud, making sure the cuts are all the same size….basting the little balls of starch every so often with the sizzling oil…nurchering them to a golden brown with a crispy coat…. Mmmm, think this will be on the menu for Sunday Lunch 😉

 

Serves: 6-8

 

Ingredients:

12 medium sized Potatoes

50ml Vegetable Oil

Salt to taste

 

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Peel the potatoes.
  3. Cut a thin slice off the bottom of each potato to stop them from rolling over.
  4. Using two pencils,  place them on a chopping board so they are parallel and about 5cm apart.
  5. Place a potato between the pencils then cut straight down, vertically, through the potato as far as the pencils. Do not cut right rough the potato.
  6. Make a series of cuts along the length of the potato, to make slices 5mm thick.
  7. Heat the oil in an oven pan and when the oil is sizzling, put the potatoes in a single layer in the pan.
  8. Spoon some oil over the potatoes.
  9. Roast in the oven for about 1 hour, basting regularly with the hot oil.

10. When the potatoes are crispy and golden brown, they are ready.

11. Sprinkle with salt and serve immediately alongside your favourite veggies and joint of meat.

 

Photo: Duns

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

6 responses »

  1. I could eat one right now w/some thick spicy ketchup…maybe a big ol’ Coke!! xoxo 🙂

    Reply
  2. I have been baking potatoes this way for ages! I first read the recipe (Papas Abanico) in a “Vanidades” magazine when I was in my 20s (thirty-something years ago) and I thought it would be interesting to try them . . . they were an instant hit with my family and have been doing them ever since! The difference with your recipe is that you mix some mustard, salt, olive oil and dry herbs (could be thyme, oregano, basil, etc.) and you brush this mixture over the potatoes before baking them. Some other times I also sprinkle Parmesan cheese on top. Susy 🙂

    Reply
  3. I just made fan potatoes! I do mine a little differently…I baste them with butter throughout the roasting process, and towards the end put dry breadcrumbs mixed with cheese on them 🙂 serve with sour cream, chives and bacon bits 🙂 mmmm!!!

    Gorgeous photo!

    xoxo,
    ~M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

