RSS Feed

Almond Macaroons with Chocolate and Mascarpone

Today was my “Macaroon Day”. Never made these little sweet treats before and was not too sure whether it would come out right or not. At the end it turned out to very easy and of course they taste divine 😀

Makes: 20

Ingredients:

4 large Egg Whites

300g Icing Sugar

Food colouring of you choice

140g ground Almonds

125ml Mascarpone

125ml Chocolate of your choice, melted

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C.
  2. Whisk the egg whites until soft peaks form.
  3. Whisk in the icing sugar, not too much at a time and beat well between each addition.
  4. With the last addition, add the colouring and keep whisking until the mixture has the desired colour with no streaks.
  5. Gently fold in the almonds.
  6. If you do not have Macaroon Oven Mats, cover four baking sheets with grease proof paper.
  7. Use a piping bag with a wide nozzle or a teaspoon to pipe or spoon the mixture on the paper.
  8. Make the circles about 5cm wide and this mix will make 40 circles.
  9. Let the macaroons rest for 10 minutes, to form a skin.

10. Put the baking sheets into the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes.

11. The macaroons must be crisp but not browned.

12. Leave to cool completely before filling them.

 

The Macaroon Oven Mat/Baking Sheet

 

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

11 responses »

  1. oh my gosh they look fantastic. Are you sure you didn’t buy these in a shop 🙂 I have never heard of a macaroon oven mat – what does it look like!

    Reply
  2. Wow! You are a full-fledged pastry chef now!! These look so beautiful, airy, light and deeelish!! Ally xoxoxo

    Reply
  3. Oh my, these look and sound delicious. I have never heard of that mat either.

    Reply
  4. Looks delicious, I should really get into making macaroons!

    Reply
  5. i am going to look for the mat as well. This is something we can eat minus the mascarpone! I have seen them here in the bakeries in the brightest of colours but think yours look the best 🙂

    Reply
  6. OMG!!!They are so delicious!!
    Thanks for sharing with Midweek Fiesta…Hope to see you again

    Reply

Leave a Reply

