RSS Feed

My Cake Decorating Adventure – 5: Mini Chocolate Cakes

Last night was a very short course on Mini Chocolate Cakes. Everything was already made and ready for us when we arrived at Need A Cake, so it was really just about taking in what the tutor (Dawn) said and having fun with decorating our little cakes. Oh my People, there were chocolate everywhere!! Chocolate mini cakes, chocolate ganache, chocolate Ready to Roll Icing, chocolate shavings, chocolate twirls, chocolate cigars, chocolate triangles…well…you get the picture. The only decoration I made myself was the little rose. Dawn showed us last night how the mould it.

Then we were very privilege to receive Rachel Browns’ (Owner of Need A Cake) recipes for the Chocolate cake and the Ganache.

And yes, yes, yes..I am sharing it with you 😀

Belgian Chocolate Ganache

Makes enough to cover a 20cm/8-inch cake tier.

Ingredients:

500g Dark Couverture Chocolate Drops (minimum 53% cocoa content)

500ml Single Cream

Method:

1. Place the chocolate drops in a bowl.

2. PLace the cream in a saucepan, stir well and heat up to a bare simmer.

3. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and whisk them together until smooth. Don’t over whisk the ganache, as it can split quite easily.

4. Cool slightly until just setting before use.

Tip: It can be stored in a sealed container in the fridge for up to a month.

Chocolate Cake

Serves: 6 (17cm/7-inch deep sandwich tins)

Ingredients:

3 large Eggs

175g Self-raising Flour

175g Caster Sugar

175g softened Butter

1 1/2 level teaspoon Baking Powder

40g Cocoa Powder

4 tablespoons  boiling Water

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180°C.

2. Beat together the eggs, flour, caster sugar, butter and baking powder until smooth, in a large mixing bowl.

3. Put the cocoa in a separate mixing bowl and add the warm water a little at a time to make a stiff paste.

4. Add the cocoa to the cake mix.

5. Turn into the prepared tins, level the top and bake in for 20-25 minutes.

6. Leave to cool in the tins, then turn out on a wire rack and let cool completely before decorating.

Special thanks to Rachel Brown and her team.

Need a Cake, Unit 4c, Woodley Park Estate, Reading Road, Woodley, Reading, RG53AW

UK Tel: 01189690221

http://www.need-a-cake.co.uk

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

5 responses »

  1. your rose looks fantastic! thanks for sharing the recipes!

    Reply
  2. Enough of this!! You are tooooooooooooooo much…tooooo stinkin’ adorably cute…you’re found a new calling! 🙂 xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

