RSS Feed

Rhubarb Cupcakes with Rhubarb Buttercream

My Dear Hubby loves Rhubarb and when I found this recipe in a magazine, there was no question….I had to bake it. The Rhubarb gives a lovely sharp taste to the vanilla sponge cake and it also moistens the cake wonderfully.

Makes: 12

Ingredients:

175g unsalted Butter, room temperature

175g Caster Sugar

3 medium Eggs, lightly beaten

175g self-raising Flour, sieved

2 tablespoons Milk

150g Rhubarb stalks, very finely chopped

1 tablespoon Caster Sugar

1 teaspoon Vanilla Essence

Ingredients for the Buttercream:

50g Rhubarb, diced

60g Caster Sugar

100ml Water

200g unsalted Butter, room temperature

400g Icing Sugar, sieved

Method for the Cupcakes:

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line 12-hole muffin tin with paper cases.

2. Whisk the butter and sugar together, until pale and creamy.

3.Gradually whisk in the eggs until just combined.

4. Add the flour and the milk and whisk together until well combined and fluffy.

5. Mix the Rhubarb and the caster sugar together and add to the cupcake mix and fold in.

6. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until your cake tester comes out clean.

7. Let cool in tin for 5 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on wire rack.

Method for the Buttercream:

1. Add the Rhubarb and caster sugar to the water in a small pan and gently heat until the sugar has dissolved.

2. Turn the heat up a little and let simmer for 5 minutes.

3. Set aside to cool.

4. Whisk the butter until fluffy.

5. Gradually add the icing sugar and blend well.

6. Whisk in 2 tablespoons of the Rhubarb syrup.

7. Decorate the cupcakes to your taste.

Tip:

The eggs always curdle when added to the butter and sugar. To prevent that, add 2 tablespoons of the flour and then whisk.

(Recipe adapted from Sainsbury’s Magazine)

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

8 responses »

  1. Your cupcakes are so pretty and sound great.

    Reply
  2. You’ve officially won my heart, Nel! Ruhubarb, the luv of my life…so excited it’s now going to be coming to the farmers’ markets!!! What a clever idea w/the cupcakes, and rhubarb icing…you’re just a sweet genius!! xox Ally 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Lamingtons « Kerrys Recipes

  4. Pingback: Vanilla Cupcakes « Kerrys Recipes

  5. Oh heavens, I have to send this one to my mom! She adores rhubarb, what an original cupcake!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

