RSS Feed

Sticky Toffee Pudding

I have eaten Sticky Toffee Puddings for years now but never made it myself. So this was the first time and will definitely not be the last. The perfect ending to a perfect Sunday Roast dinner. Oh, and feel free to pour a little double cream over everything at the end…it just adds a little more yummy to the yumminess 😀

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

75g Dates, stoned and chopped

75ml Water

75g Butter, softened

A little bit more Butter for greasing the pudding moulds

50g Light Brown Soft Sugar

2 medium Eggs

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

140g Self-Raising Flour

1 teaspoon Baking Powder

Ingredients for the Sauce:

150ml Double Cream

75g Light Brown Soft Sugar

25g Butter

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 170°C and grease and line the basis of 4 pudding moulds (150ml moulds).

2. Put the dates in a small pan and pour the water over. Bring to a simmer and cook for about 5-8 minutes or until the dates have absorbed all the water.

3.  Cream the butter and the sugar with an electric mixer. Whisk until light and fluffy.

4. Gradually add the eggs and vanilla extract into the butter mix and then fold in the flour and the baking powder.

5. Mix in the cooked dates until well blended.

6. Divide the mixture between the pudding moulds.

7. Put the moulds in an oven roasting dish.

8. Pour enough boiling water into the dish to  reach half way up the moulds.

9. Cover the oven dish with tin foil.

10. Cook in the oven for 25 minutes or until well risen and firm to the touch.

Method for the Sauce:

1. Pour half of the cream and all the sugar and butter into a pan and heat gently until all the sugar has dissolved.

2. Turn the heat up a little and add the rest of the cream.

3. Let this simmer for 4-6 minutes.

4.  Stir in the remainder of the cream.

Tips: The sauce can be made in advance and reheated when needed. If you use ceramic moulds for the puddings, cook them a minute or two longer.

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

15 responses »

  1. I’m like you, I love sticky toffee pudding but have never made it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

    Reply
  2. Looks so rich and sticky – yummmmm!

    Reply
  3. Ohhhh YUMMY!!! Is there anyway to figure out where to convert the measurements into Western measurements? Ex, cups, teaspoons etc I would LOVE to make this! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Must try this one Nel and your instructions are so nice and easy to follow…thank you and love your blog xoxo

    Reply
    • Thanks Hun…I try and keep everything very easy…step by step. When I started baking I found that some of the recipes were “above my head” instruction wise, so I will rather break things down very plain and simple 😉

      Reply
  5. I just wrote about the English Pub opening up in a couple months here in North Carolina, along with their phenomenal Sticky Toffee Pudding. I had never even heard of it, and now I am seeing it everywhere! Some of the most amazing goodness I have ever eaten. Thank you for posting the recipe!

    Reply
  6. Just found your blog….Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

