RSS Feed

My Cake Decorating Adventure – 6

It was so good to be back in class again last night and even more so when I saw that Kim was going to be our Tutor again. We had to take in 4 pre-iced cupcakes and all the tools of the trade that we have with us. My cupcakes where Mary Berrys’ Rich Vanilla Cupcakes and I smeared a thin layer of vanilla Royal Icing over the tops and then covered them with white and milk chocolate flavoured Sugar Paste.

The first piping method that Kim showed us was the Chrysanthemum flower, that is done with the “smiley face” nozzle. I am sooooo happy that I just have to write down that name…’cause you have no idea how I struggle to say it :D. Put a blob in the centre of your cupcake, using the round nozzle. This will form the base of your flower. Then, working from the outside, inwards, you use your smiley face or more professionally known as the number 81 nozzle, to pipe lines, making each circle of lines shorter, until you reach the centre.

The second flower and the second piping method was for the Hydranga. For this one you only used your big 2D nozzle. Piping the simple daisy, starting from the outside of the cupcake and working your way in. Then…you start piping more simple daisies on top of the first piped ones and continues until you are satisfied with the outcome.

The third flower was a gorgeous Sunflower. For this we used sugar paste, a small round nozzle and the leave nozzle, number 352. First we rolled out the sugar paste and cut out the big green leaves and placed those on the cupcake. Then, by using the small round nozzle, we piped the centre of the sunflower. After that, we used the leaf nozzle and piped the first circle of leaves on the edge of the cupcake and from there you just, again, repeat the process until you reach the middle of the flower.

The fourth flower was the ribbon Rose. This is not the prettiest rose but one of the easier ones to pipe. For this we used the round tip nozzle and the petal tip, number 104. You build up a core, on a flower needle, for the rose by using the round nozzle and forming a “cone” about one and half times the length of the petal nozzle tip. Then, by turning and piping at the same time, using the petal tip, you start building your rose.

Rich Vanilla Cupcakes

Makes: 12

Ingredients:

175g Self-Raising Flour

125g unsalted Butter, room temperature

175g Castor Sugar

2 large Eggs, room temperature

1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

3 tablespoons Milk

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 deg Celsius and prepare your muffin tin.

2. In a large bowl, beat the butter until very pale and then gradually beat in the sugar until the mix is light and fluffy.

3. Beat the eggs and the vanilla together and then add this to the butter mix.

4. Add the flour and gently fold this into the butter mix, adding the milk, one tablespoon at a time, during the folding process.

5. Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin holes.

6. Bake for 18-20 minutes until firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

7. Remove from the oven, let cool in the muffin tin for 5 minutes and then remove from the tin to cool completely before decorating.

Royal Icing

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons Meringue Powder

500g Icing Sugar

6-9 tablespoons water

Method:

1. Place icing sugar and meringue powder in a bowl.

2. Stir or mix at a low speed until blended.

3. Add the water and mix 7-10 minutes on a low speed until the icing losses its sheen.

Tips: Be sure that the utensils you use are completely grease free.

Royal Icing dries out quickly, so make sure that you cover it with a damp cloth while working with it.

Add the water a little at bit at a time…you do need the icing to be rather stiff when piping flowers.

The icing can be stored for up to two weeks in an airtight contains, seeing that you are not using “real” eggs.

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

10 responses »

  1. Your Blog is super and so enjoyable to read….wow what a fun class and such pretty cupcakes….I really need to try these out soon.

    thank you Nel

    big hugs all round

    Beverley xoxo

    Reply
  2. Nel! You are sooooooooooooooooo ready for ‘Cupcake Wars’…these are prettier than anything I’ve ever seen on that show!! Thanks for the recipes, too…plan to use the cake batter!! xox Ally

    Reply
    • My Lovely Ally……you are in my life to make me feel good and bring sunshine to a rainy day :D. Thank you so much Hun…hope to get better and better and better and…….TAKE OVER THE CAKE WORLD Mwauhahaha… xxx

      Reply
  3. you Rock, Nel! wow!

    ~M

    Reply
    • Thank you Melissa…I always feel rather “terrified” posting my creations…cause I only started the beginning of the year and feel that I still have so much to learn and that my work might look a little…well…not that good. But thank you very much…it’s so nice to get feedback like this my lovely Melissa ;0) xx

      Reply
  4. Hi Nel…

    Lekker om ‘n Afrikaanse naam te sien. I am absolutely thrilled with your cupcake recipe and am truly enjoying this new venture. We are opening a bakery (for cupcakes only) very soon and I am looking forward to a long and prosperous relationship with your venture. Thank you for all the ideas and God Bless with all your future endeavours. Go well…… until our next chat.xx (Mag ek jou persoonlike epos kry?)

    Reply
    • Hi Amanda en dankie man. Ek geniet dit so verskriklik baie :D. Hou my op hoogte met jou doen en late met die besigheidjie en ek hoop dit gaan sommer baie goed met die Cupcakes. Ek skinder nou sal die ander se sooooo….You are more than welcome to mail me and my address is: thepapercupkitchen@gmail.com. Where are you based in SA? Miss home now and then and always good to hear from my people over there 😀

      Reply
      • Hi there! Where is you home town? My daughter was at boarding school in Middelburg and she had a friend called Nelmarie. I as pretty sure there are not many girls in our country with your name?

  5. I was born in Sabie and did my matrix there in 1994…after that…Pretoria 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment