RSS Feed

Pecan Pie

Chris loves Pecan Pie and I am ashamed to say that, this is the first one I made for him and we have been together for 12 years now :D. But it was worth the wait , hey Love, hehehehe. A wonderfully rich, decadent pie that goes well with ice cream or cream.

 

Makes: 1 23cm/9 inch Flan tin

Ingredients for the filling:

150g Pecan halves

30g unsalted Butter

60g dark Muscovado Sugar

30g Caster Sugar

125ml Golden Syrup

1 teaspoon Rum extract

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

2 tablespoons single Cream

1/4 teaspoon ground Cinnamon

pinch of ground Nutmeg

1 large Egg, lightly beaten

2 Egg Yolks (large eggs)

 

Ingredients for the Pastry:

175g all-purpose Flour

90g chilled Butter, cubed

2 1/2 tablespoons cold Water

1 Egg White, lightly beaten

Method for the Pastry:

1. Pre-heat oven to 180°C.

2. Put the flour in a mixing bowl and add the butter.

3. Using your finger tips, rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

4. Add enough water to make a soft dough.

5. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface and then line the tin.

6. Chill in the refrigerator  for 30 minutes.

7. Then bake blind  for 10 minutes. (Cover the pastry with some foil and put the beans over the foil).

8. Remove the beans and the foil and bake the party for a further 5 minutes.

 

Method for the Filling:

1. Coarsely chop the pecan halves, reserving a “whole” few for decorating purpose.

2. Put the butter in a saucepan and cook gently over a low heat until golden brown.

3. Add the sugars and the golden syrup to the butter and heat gently until the sugars dissolves.

4. Remove from the heat and add the rum extract, vanilla extract, cream, cinnamon and nutmeg.

5. Whisk together the egg and the egg yolks and whisk a little of the syrup mix into this.

6. Add the remainder of the syrup mix and leave to cool.

7. Arrange the pecan halves and the chopped pecans in the party case.

8. Pour the syrup mixture over the pecans.

9. Bake for about 35-40 minutes until golden and set.

10. Let cool and then serve.

(Adapted from Mary Berry’s Pecan Pie)

 

 

 

 

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

11 responses »

  1. What an incredibly good looking and delicious sounding pie.

    Reply
  2. Such a lovely Pie, in the south we always have Pecan Pies during the holidays, will give your recipe a try for the next one! Thanks for sharing at Thursday’s Treasures!

    Reply
  3. This is as lovely as you, my dear Nel! Thank you so much for sharing on Thursday’s Treasures Week 34. I’d love for you to share each Thursday. ❤ and hugs doll! http://www.recipesformyboys.com/2012/05/thursdays-treasures-week-34.html open all week

    Reply
  4. Yes, worth the wait, Nel…Like Joan, us Southerns luv our peeee can or you might say pehhhhhcahhhnnn pie! Luv! xox :0 Ally

    Reply
  5. I haven’t made Pecan Pie for a long time so a new Recipe for it is very welcome. Will wait for the boys to come home to make your delicious recipe.

    Xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

