RSS Feed

Elderflower Cupcakes with Elderflower Buttercream

So, my flavour of the month, that I am testing out on everything,  is Elderflower. It worked perfectly in this cupcake recipe. Moist, smells gorgeous and tastes really good….that makes it a 10 out of 10 in my books.

Makes: 18 (Please keep in mind that I use a small Ice-Cream scoop – 50ml to fill the liners)

Ingredients for the Cupcakes:

120g unsalted Butter, room temperature

150g Caster Sugar

3 tablespoons Elderflower Cordial

½ teaspoon Lemon Juice

2 large Eggs, room temperature

130g Self Raising Flour

1 teaspoon Baking Powder

50g Ground Almonds

125ml Milk, room temperature

Ingredients for the Buttercream:

240g unsalted Butter, room temperature

400g Icing Sugar

6 teaspoons Elderflower Cordial

Food colour of your choice

Method for the Cupcakes:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C and line two muffin tins with cupcake liners.
  2. Sift the self-raising flour, ground almonds and baking powder together.
  3. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  4. Add the elderflower cordial and lemon juice to the butter and sugar mixture.
  5. Add the eggs to this mixture, one at a time,  beating well between each addition.
  6. Add the flour and the milk and mix until fully combined.
  7. Divide the mixture equally into the liners and bake for 15 – 18 minutes or until cocktail stick/toothpick inserted into the centre of the cupcakes comes out clean.
  8. Let the cupcakes cool in the muffin pans for about 5 minutes and then let cool completely before frosting.

Method for the Buttercream:

  1. Cream the butter until smooth and gradually add the icing sugar.
  2. Continue to cream until the mix is light and fluffy.
  3. Add the elderflower cordial and food colour and mix in until fully combined.

Tip: The Buttercream is really sweet….so add a little lemon juice to this if you would like it a little less sweet.

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

15 responses »

  1. This is gorgeous Nel…pictures are stunning and the recipe is to die for! Well done on another great recipe and thank you for sharing

    xoxo

    Reply
  2. Nel these sound lovely! I’ve never heard of elderberry cordial so I looked it up and I am ordering some from Amazon just so I can try these wonderful cupcakes! ❤ ❤

    Reply
  3. These are stunning, Nel…haven’t tasted elderflower, but will order some since Tara found it! Love your creativity! xo ally

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Primrose Bakery: Rose biscuits « Black Cat Originals

  5. Blissfully Vintage

    Lovely pictures and recipe – I would love to try these! I too have discovered a love of baking and cake decorating in the past year 🙂

    Reply
  6. Oh my jeepers, those are the prettiest cupcakes I have seen in quite a while!! I’d generally rather have a muffin than a cupcake, but I’d try these in a heartbeat!!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Flowery blurbs #14. « Flowery Prose

  8. Pingback: Everything’s Better as a Cupcake! | Brooklyn Locavore

  9. Wow! These are just gorgeous looking little cakes! I’ve been scouring the net trying to find a good elderflower recipe and I think I’ve found it!
    Does the sponge come out tasting a little like almond though with the ground almond? What is the best way you could describe the flavour of these?
    I have a tea with a bunch of busy Mums and thought I’d try something a little different from the usual Vanilla or Chocolate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

