RSS Feed

Battenburg Cake

This cake is much easier to make than it looks and is well worth the (little) effort. It looks so pretty, tastes gorgeous and is perfect to serve with your afternoon tea.

I am not a huge fan of marzipan so for this cake I used sugarpaste instead of the marzipan. I also made it a little easier on myself and instead of dividing a  20cm/8inch shallow cake tin in two with non-stick baking paper/parchment paper, I used two greased loaf tins.

 

Serves: 6-8

Pre-heat Oven to 180°C/350F

 

Ingredients for the Cake:

175g/6oz Butter, softened

175g/6oz Caster Sugar

3 medium Eggs

175g/6oz Self-raising flour

pinch of Salt

2 tablespoons Milk

Food colouring of your choice

 

Ingredients for the Buttercream:

200g/7oz Icing Sugar

80g/2.8oz Butter, softened

3 teaspoons Milk

1 teaspoon Raspberry Extract

225g/8oz Marzipan or Sugar-paste

 

Method for the Buttercream:

1. Sift the icing sugar.

2. Add the butter, milk and raspberry extract to the sugar and mix well until the sugar has dissolved and the mix is fluffy. (Using an electric hand mixer works best)

3. Set aside until needed.

Method for the Cake:

1. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.

2. Add the eggs, flour, salt and milk and mix until well combined.

3. Divide the mixture in two equal parts and colour with the food colouring.

4. Pour the mixture into two loaf tins and bake for 25-35 minutes or until a cake tester inserted comes out clean.

5. Let cool in the tins for 10 minutes before turning the cakes out to cool completely.

6. Trim the dark edges off the two cakes with a sharp knife and then cut each lengthways into two equal strips. (4 in total)

7. Using the buttercream, stick two of the four strips together to form the base of your cake.

8. Spread more of the buttercream on top of the strips.

9. Stick the remaining two strips of cake on top of the first ones and spread with more buttercream.

10.Cover the whole assembled cake with buttercream.

11. Roll out the marzipan/sugarpaste, big enough to cover the whole cake.

12. After covering the cake smooth the marzipan/sugarpaste.

13. Cut a slither of cake off  both ends, just to neaten it up.

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

3 responses »

  1. Nel! Just stunning and how special would this be to serve…folks would rave!! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

