RSS Feed

Guest Post: Cake Balls

I am very pleased to introduce the lovely Helen from The Diary of a Cake Maker for this VERY FIRST Guest Post on PaperCup. I have met Helen a few months ago through mutual Baking Friends on Facebook and I am so happy to have her as part of my BFFOL  (Best Foodie Friends On Line). You will love her…and you will love her blog!!!

 

From Helen:

Barcelona is famous for its bakeries and patisseries, however being a British baker, I am bringing good old British baking to Spanish kitchens. My name is Helen Vass and I am originally from Glasgow in Scotland, but have spent the past five years in Barcelona. Over the past year or so, I have taken to the baking world in a big way and started writing my blog, The Diary of a Cake Maker. The aim of my blog is to share all my recipes and baking adventures with other fellow bakers around the world.

 

This recipe came from a cake disaster which I had last week. I was given the task to make a wedding cake for a friend and I decided to try a new chocolate cake recipe and added some glycerine to it so it could last longer. I followed all the instructions and waited anxiously for the cake to cook. As it was nearing the end of the cooking time, I was shocked to see the cake had sunk! This was one of the few times that this has ever happened to me and I was shocked! Being a Scottish person, we are known to be thrifty or even stingy and I thought there was no way I could let this cake go to waste!!! I decided to use some of it to make cake balls and this is perfect if you ever have a cake flop!

 

Ingredients

Sponge cake (any flavour, I used chocolate mud cake)

Buttercream or Philadelphia cream cheese

Chocolate (whatever type you prefer). The quantity depends on how many cake balls you make.

 

Method

1. In a bowl break up your cake, and rub together to create crumbs.

 

2. Once you have the cake in crumbs, you can add buttercream or Philadelphia cheese. (In the case of my cake balls, I used a chocolate mud cake which held its shape really well when shaped into a ball. If you are using a cake which is not as moist, use enough buttercream or Philadelphia to hold it together. You will see that it if it doesn’t stick, add a little more. Personally I prefer the Philadelphia as it is not so sweet with the cake, but it’s a case of whatever floats your boat!)

3. Place the cake balls on a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

4. Stick the cake balls in the fridge for half an hour until it holds its shape and is set.

5. In a Pyrex bowl, break up the chocolate into squares: (I used milk chocolate.)

6. Then in the microwave, melt the chocolate in 30 second blasts, stirring in between each interval.

7. Once it has melted, bathe each cake ball and place it on a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

 

8. Once you have covered all the cake balls with all the chocolate, you can decorate them with chocolate sprinkles, hundreds and thousands or whatever you fancy. I kept mine plain so I could swirl on some white chocolate.

 

9. Place the cake balls in the fridge until set.

10. If you decide to swirl on some white chocolate like I did, melt it in the microwave as done previously. You will not need much white chocolate as it’s just to do a fine drizzle. Once melted, I put mine in a little plastic food bag as I had run out of food bags. Snip the end of and drizzle on the cake balls any way you like. Leave in the fridge to set.

11. Once set, enjoy with a nice cappuccino and you will be in heaven!

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

7 responses »

  1. You make it sound so easy and I might even give it a go now…thank you and so wonderful to see you working together 🙂 xoxo

    Reply
  2. What a tasty end to what could have been such a waste. These look so good, I may just have to have an ‘accident’ of my own 😉 x

    Reply
  3. Wow, what a great post and recipe! I’ve had these same cake disasters, and making balls really saves the day!! So easy, and so elegant…love it!!

    Reply
  4. The Diary of a Cake Maker

    Totally the best way to use up any cake disasters!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

