RSS Feed

Rich Chocolate Cupcakes

A very easy recipe to follow and nothing more to say than: Rich….Dark…and perfectly Moist! My new favourite chocolate recipe!! Enjoy ;D

 

Makes: 18 cupcakes

 

Ingredients: 

250g Plain Flour

60g Cocoa Powder

1 1/2 teaspoons Bicarbonate of Soda

1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder

1/4 teaspoon Salt

225g Caster Sugar

150g Mayonnaise ( regular)

240ml Water

1 heaped teaspoon of Instant Coffee

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract/Essence

 

Method:

1. Sift the flour, cocoa powder, bicarb of soda, baking powder and salt together.

2. In a different bowl, cream the caster sugar and mayonnaise together.

3. Dissolve the coffee in the water and add the vanilla to this.

4. Add the coffee mix to the sugar and mayonnaise and whisk until well combined.

5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until well combined and fairly smooth.

6. Spoon the mixture into your prepared muffin trays.

7. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the middle of a cupcake comes out clean.

8. Let cool in tray for 5 minutes and then cool completely before topping with your choice of frosting.

 

About The PaperCup Kitchen

Hi there everyone. I am Nelmarie, but please call me Nel. I, like so many people out there enjoy cooking and baking. Food makes me smile and it makes my heart beat faster. The only place where I know I fit just perfectly, is in the kitchen. I have also enrolled in a few cake decorating courses this year and I think I have met my true love....not mentioning my Hubby now :D. It took me 36 years to find out what I want to do with my life and I can now say the answer is rather simple...Bake and then decorating what I've baked. I have started PaperCup in 2011 whilst we were living in Moscow, Russia. Living the life of an Expat can sometimes get very lonely and the blog has not only brought the whole world into my kitchen but I have met so many gorgeous Foodie Friends. I am so happy that I have taken the plunge and started PaperCup. I am not a brilliant writer, I am not a brilliant chef, I am not a brilliant baker BUT I do invite you into my kitchen, take your shoes of, relax, have a bite to eat and let's have a chat. A little more about me: Nelmarie Rennison, married to Christopher for 6 years, together for 12. Two lovely kiddies, Nicholas 3 1/2 and Allegra just over a year. South African, lived in Russia for two years and now loving living in the UK. Diagnosed with MS in 2000 and never felt better :D I am just as grateful for dust blowing in my eyes as I am for Angels sitting on my shoulders. I love my family, my friends, my life and I am grateful for each new morning. Looking forward to get to know you better xx

2 responses »

  1. Mayo!! Wow…so that takes the place of the oil? I have to try!! xo Ally

    Reply
  2. Just made this with Gluten Free Self raising flour and it came out fine. Trevor says very tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

